University of Minnesota
Institute for Engineering in Medicine
http://iem.umn.edu/
612-626-3272

Unit's home page.

Medical and Biological Imaging Theme

 

Left: Visual pathway and LGN ocular dominance layers (ODLs). Right: Functional MRI maps of ODLs (A, A1 and CM) in cat LGNs (A receiving inputs from ipsilateral eyes, A1 and CM receiving inputs from contralateral eyes).

 

The major research goal of the Medical and Biological Imaging Theme is to strengthen critical roles of medical and biological imaging in supporting broad aspects of biomedical research and clinical translation. This goal will be accomplished by several aims: 1) To integrate and share a large variety of state-of-the-art imaging approaches (including MRI, in vivo MRS, PET, CT, ultrasound, optical imaging, cellular and electrophysiological imaging), technology and expertise, facilities and resource for addressing essential biomedical questions from cellular to system level. 2) To foster interdisciplinary collaborations between basic science, bioengineering and clinical researchers, and between academic and biomedical industry; and to create innovative ideas for conducting challenging biomedical research and new imaging solutions aiming for improving health care and clinical diagnosis.

PERSON DEPARTMENT EMAIL
Akkin, Taner Biomedical Engineering akkin@umn.edu
Ashkenazi, Shai Biomedical Engineering ashke003@umn.edu
Baker, Kenneth Neurology kbbaker@umn.edu
Bechtold, Joan Orthopaedic Surgery bechtold@umn.edu
Bischof, John Mechanical Engineering bischof@umn.edu
Chen, Wei Radiology - CMRR chenx075@umn.edu
Cherkassky, Vladimir Electrical & Computer Engineering cherk001@umn.edu
Cureoglu, Sebahattin Otolaryngology cureo003@umn.edu
Ebbini, Emad Electrical & Computer Engineering ebbin001@umn.edu
Ebner, Timothy Neuroscience ebner001@umn.edu
Fok, Alex Restorative Sciences alexfok@umn.edu
Garwood, Michael Radiology - CMRR gar@umn.edu
Georgiou, Tryphon Electrical & Computer Engineering georgiou@umn.edu
Hackel, Benjamin Chemical Engineering/Materials Science hackel@umn.edu
Harjani, Ramesh Electrical & Computer Engineering harjani@umn.edu
He, Bin Biomedical Engineering binhe@umn.edu
He, Sheng Psychology sheng@umn.edu
Hobbie, Russell Physics (Emeritus) hobbie@umn.edu
Kennedy, William Neurology kenne001@umn.edu
Koester, Steven Electrical & Computer Engineering skoester@umn.edu
Lenglet, Christophe Radiology - CMRR clenglet@umn.edu
Lim, Hubert Biomedical Engineering hlim@umn.edu
Low, Walter Neurosurgery lowwalt@umn.edu
Odde, David Biomedical Engineering oddex002@umn.edu
Oh, Sang-Hyun Electrical & Computer Engineering sang@umn.edu
Panyam, Jayanth Pharmaceutics jpanyam@umn.edu
Papanikolopoulos, Nikolaus Computer Science & Engineering papan001@umn.edu
Parhi, Keshab Electrical & Computer Engineering parhi@umn.edu
Pierre, Valerie Chemistry pierre@umn.edu
Pluhar, G. Elizabeth Veterinary Clinical Sciences pluha006@umn.edu
Schiffer, Wynne Neurology schiffer@umn.edu
Shekhar, Shashi Computer Science & Engineering shekhar@umn.edu
Shen, Yunhe Urologic Surgery yunhe23@umn.edu
Talkachova, Alena Biomedical Engineering talkacal@umn.edu
Tuite, Paul Neurology tuite002@umn.edu
Ugurbil, Kamil Radiology - CMRR kamil@cmrr.umn.edu
Watanabe, Yoichi Therapeutic Radiology watan016@umn.edu
Yacoub, Essa Radiology-CMRR yaco0006@umn.edu
Yee, Douglas Medicine, Pharmacology yeexx006@umn.edu
Yueh, Bevan Otolaryngology byueh@umn.edu